markwillwrite
Texting
"Art or Crime?"
0:00
-1:09:46

"Art or Crime?"

Texting S2E3: Graffiti
Ximending District Taipei Taiwan-9
street art in Ximending District, Taipei, Taiwan

Happy Tuesday, textual deviants!

Wait, “Tuesday”?

Yes, dearly beloved, I failed to post yesterday as I was in the studio until after midnight laying down basic tracks for my new solo album, My Name Is Will. Here’s a pic of my setup for bass and vocals in the control room at 112F Recording Studio:

Drummer Cody Byassee and guitarist C.J. Hsu are working with me on this project and their contributions have been inestimable. I’ll share more details with you in the coming months, but I hope to release the album before the end of the year. (I always say that, don’t I?)

In any case, you can press play above to hear episode 3 of season 2 of Texting (albeit one day late). Tomek and I discuss the topic of graffiti and our textual focus is the PBS documentary Style Wars, which examines the street art and hip hop scene of New York City in the early 80s. Let us know what you think!

Leave a comment

Next week our text will be the film Synechdoche, New York. I’ll make every effort to post the new episode by Monday night Taipei time. Until then!

MW

0 Comments
markwillwrite
Texting
"All art is a form of literature."—Fernando Pessoa
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Mark Will
Tomek