markwillwrite
Texting
Smells Like Teen Friendship
0:00
-1:19:24

Smells Like Teen Friendship

S3E4: Teenage Friend Groups
Transcript

No transcript...

Hello, all you sportos, motorheads, geeks, sluts, bloods, wastoids, dweebies, dickheads, and righteous dudes (and dudettes)! For this latest episode of Texting, Tomek chose “teenage friend groups” as our textual focus. During our discussion, my co-host profiles two of his close high school friends and I emphasize the importance of drugs and music to my adolescent development. Towards the end of the pod, we both conclude that we are still teenagers at heart. Press play above to hear the entire conversation and let us know what you think.

Leave a comment

Sorry for posting the audio a couple of days late. Recent personal upheavals and the prospect of Julian Assange’s imminent extradition to the US have frankly taken the wind out of my sails. At the moment, it feels as though the world is too much with us. Nevertheless, good soldier that I am, I did manage to also edit the video version of S3E4 and even upload it to YouTube. Thanks to Rich for the thumbnail.

Show Notes

  • Anybody remember Megatrends?

Megatrends : Ten New Directions Transforming Our Lives by John Naisbitt... - Picture 1 of 1
  • The murderer from my hometown in Texas was named Roy Kirk. As an adult he moved up to Pennsylvania and killed his neighbor in one of the most gruesome manners imaginable:

  • I don’t know much about Alexei Navalny (whose death Tomek mentions at the end of the pod), but I’m learning:

  • I can’t believe I forgot to mention Stand By Me, one of the great films about adolescent friendship, at any point during the discussion:

  • Thanks to friend of show Steve for his personal reflections at the end.

The Next Text

Mark Lombardi: Death Defying Acts of Art and Conspiracy

0 Comments
markwillwrite
Texting
"All art is a form of literature."—Fernando Pessoa